You are only seeing posts authors requested be public.

Register and Login to participate in discussions with colleagues.

Congratulations Dr Granger Avery named to Order of Canada

Share this

Dr Granger AveryCongratulations to Dr Granger Avery who has been named to the Order of Canada. 

Dr Avery is an exemplary physician and visionary who has made a positive impact as a medical leader to improve health care for Canadians.

As the hardest working BCMA President 1997-98 who visited every community including Richmond to listen and meet the members, Dr Granger Avery so impressed me that he influenced my decision to serve on the BCMA board member for a full decade. As the CMA President 2016 Dr Avery was a tireless champion for health system reforms; he continues to promote the values of democratic principles and rights of physician representation on the CMA. 

I am so proud to have known Granger as a longtime friend and mentor who continues to inspire me and countless others to serve our noble profession and in public service.


BC privileged to have 4 physicians in this years list to O.C.

Congratulations indeed to Dr. Granger Avery, and also to 3 other BC Physicians as per this mornings Governor General’s notification:

BC is privileged to have 4 physicians in this years list of appointees:

Order of Canada appointees - June 2022 

Granger Richard Avery, C.M.
Port McNeill, British Columbia

For his incisive leadership in the practice of rural medicine and for his tireless commitment to improving Canada’s health care system.

Paul Joseph Dubord, O.C.
Vancouver, British Columbia

For his contributions to ophthalmology and for his tireless humanitarian work on the international stage, notably in India.

Donald Arthur Enarson, O.C. (deceased)
White Rock, British Columbia

For his work as a scientist, professor and physician who has contributed to greater understanding and improvement of lung health and global tuberculosis control.

Martin T. Schechter, C.M., O.B.C.

Vancouver, British Columbia

For his groundbreaking research in HIV/AIDS treatment protocols and for his leadership in the development of numerous leading-edge health institutes.